Holistic 3D communication networks for 6G (6G-TakeOff)

Subproject:
Research and evaluation of distributed communication concepts in three-dimensional 6G communication networks

6G-TakeOff Logo 

Initial Situation

The cellular mobile communications networks currently in use with their earth-bound base stations form a two-dimensional and purely terrestrial infrastructure of radio coverage: The antennas for radio coverage are mounted on more or less high masts and are thus approximately on one level. The availability of necessary connectivity for tomorrow's digital society and economy therefore requires new network architectures in which, from their design approach, flying network nodes together with terrestrial network components form a unified 3D communication network - "unified 3D network". Such a 3D network should be able to shift network functionalities dynamically between the network components according to demand. The holistic approach required for this enables innovations that exploit the potential of flying network components more comprehensively and deeply compared to the approaches envisioned by 3GPP for 5G-NTN. 6G-TakeOff will, through this holistic approach, produce 3D networks for 6G that go beyond 5G-NTN.

Objective

6G-TakeOff aims to provide anytime, anywhere connectivity by developing new network architectures and technologies. To this end, 6G-TakeOff will strive for a uniform 3D communication network in its design approach, in which flying network nodes together with terrestrial network components provide functionalities dynamically according to demand. The holistic approach required for this opens up scope for innovations that go beyond the possibilities of the 3GPP 5G-NTN approach by exploiting the potential of flying network components much more comprehensively and deeply. Classes of network nodes include IoT/end-user devices, terrestrial access nodes, and 3D components such as Low Altitude Platforms (LAPS), High Altitude Platforms (HAPS), and satellites (LEOs, GEOs) with their specific characteristics. A 6G system will connect these network components in a highly flexible, autonomous, where necessary infrastructure-independent way and according to current requirements.

Research Contribution of the University of Bremen

The object of the subproject is to research innovative concepts for 6th generation 3D communication networks. For this purpose, the dynamic mapping of RAN functionality to network components is analyzed, the information flows between the 3D network components are optimized, and distributed receiver concepts are explored. Starting from the theoretical concept development, corresponding methods are explored taking into account 6G-specific system parameters and scenarios as well as the ongoing international discussions in the various committees.

Further Information

Details

Duration: 08/2022 - 07/2025
Funding:Federal Ministry of Education and Research
Partners:Creonic GmbH
DSI Aerospace Technologie GmbH
Frauenhofer FOKUS
Institute for Wireless Communication and Navigation, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (TUK)
Precursor:Open 6G Hub

Involved Staff

Last change on 11.10.2022 by D. Wübben
AIT ieee GOC tzi ith Fachbereich 1
© Department of Communications Engineering - University of BremenImprint / Contact

Holistische 3D-Kommunikationsnetze für 6G (6G-TakeOff)

Teilprojekt: 
Erforschung und Evaluierung verteilter Kommunikationskonzepte in dreidimensionalen 6GKommunikationsnetzen

6G-TakeOff Logo 

Ausgangssituation

Die derzeit im Einsatz befindlichen zellularen Mobilfunknetze mit ihren erdgebundenen Basisstationen bilden eine zweidimensionale und rein terrestrische Infrastruktur der Funkversorgung: Die Antennen für die Funk-abdeckung sind an mehr oder weniger hohen Masten montiert und befinden sich damit näherungsweise auf einer Ebene. Die Verfügbarkeit einer notwendigen Konnektivität für die digitale Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft von Morgen erfordert daher neue Netzarchitekturen, bei denen, von ihrem Designansatz her, fliegende Netzknoten zu-sammen mit terrestrischen Netzkomponenten ein vereinheitlichtes 3D-Kommunikationsnetz bilden – „unified 3D network“. Ein derartiges 3D-Netz soll Netzfunktionalitäten dynamisch zwischen den Netzkomponenten bedarfsgerecht verlagern können. Der hierzu notwendige holistische Ansatz ermöglicht Innovationen, welche das Potential fliegender Netzkomponenten gegenüber den von 3GPP angedachten Ansätzen für 5G-NTN umfassender und tiefgehender nutzen. 6G-TakeOff wird durch diesen holisti-schen Ansatz 3D-Netze für 6G hervorbringen, die über 5G-NTN hinausgehen.

Zielsetzung

6G-TakeOff verfolgt das Ziel, eine jederzeit und überall verfügbare Konnektivität durch die Entwicklung neuer Netzarchitekturen und Technologien bereit zu stellen. Hierzu wird 6G-TakeOff ein im Designansatz einheitli-ches 3D-Kommunikationsnetz anstreben, bei dem fliegende Netzknoten zusammen mit terrestrischen Netz-komponenten Funktionalitäten dynamisch bedarfsgerecht zur Verfügung stel-len. Der hierzu notwendige holistische Ansatz eröffnet Raum für Innovationen, welche über die Möglichkei-ten des 3GPP 5G-NTN-Ansatzes hinausgehen, indem sie das Potential fliegender Netzkomponenten deutlich umfassender und tiefgehender nutzen. Klassen an Netzknoten sind IoT-/End-User-Geräte, terrestrische Zugangsknoten und 3D-Komponenten wie Low Altitude Platforms (LAPS), High Altitude Platforms (HAPS) und Satelliten (LEOs, GEOs) mit ihren spezifischen Eigenschaften. Ein 6G System wird diese Netzkomponenten hoch flexibel, autonom, wo nötig infrastrukturunabhängig und den aktuellen Anforderungen gemäß verbinden.

Forschungsbeitrag der Universität Bremen

Gegenstand des Teilvorhabens ist die Erforschung innovativer Konzepte für 3D Kommunikationsnetze der 6. Generation. Hierzu wird die dynamische Abbildung von RAN-Funktionalität auf Netzkomponenten analysiert, die Informationsflüsse zwischen den 3D-Netzkomponenten werden optimiert und verteilte Empfängerkonzepte werden erforscht. Ausgehend von der theoretischen Konzeptentwicklung werden entsprechende Verfahren unter Einbeziehung von 6G-spezfischen Systemparametern und Szenarien sowie den laufenden internationalen Diskussionen in den verschiedenen Gremien erforscht.

Weitere Informationen

Details

Laufzeit: 08/2022 - 07/2025
Förderung:Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung
Partner:Creonic GmbH
DSI Aerospace Technologie GmbH
Frauenhofer FOKUS
Lehrstuhl für Funkkommunikation und Navigation, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (TUK)
Vorgänger:Open 6G Hub

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 05.12.2022 von D. Wübben
AIT ieee GOC tzi ith Fachbereich 1
© Arbeitsbereich Nachrichtentechnik - Universität BremenImpressum / Kontakt